Right after I posted this on Wednesday, I read about the DIY party on A Soft Place to Land. So I’m ready to join in with this post and a couple others of various weekend projects I had going on.

I had several projects over the long weekend to spruce up and decorate the house. The biggest project was painting our headboard. Our headboard is a hand me down we’ve had since we got married. Here’s the blah wood before shot:

bedroom3

Then after applying a coat of good old Kilz oil based primer and two coats of Behr touch of cream laytex paint I moved the new headboard back inside to show off it’s transformation. I also added our new Shabby Chic bedding from Target, a bit of a splurge (anything over $20 is usually a splurge to me though), but our old bedspread was falling apart and had so many rips in it from kitty claws.  So with all that here’s the cottage look after:

Even the dresser got a little facelift. I added some new handles from Target ($9.99 for a pack of six.) I’m still contemplating painting it as well. Maybe a soft tan color to pick up the color from the comforter.  What do you think?

So that’s part one of the projects I had going on around the house. Go here for part two of my weekend project about furniture arranging and check out my side bar for links to more projects. Thanks for visiting and be sure to check out the DIY party from ASPTL.

 DIY Day @ ASPTL

